Winter 2016 – Irene Enzlin and Verena Chen

A truly inspiring performance of the Brahms Double Concerto by Irene Enzlin and Verena Chen formed the centrepiece of our last concert of 2016. We were given an extra treat by Irene and Verena as they returned after the interval to play a virtuoso encore piece, Passacaglia by the Norwegian composer, Halvorsen.

We were very grateful to Alexander Webb for stepping into the breach and taking over conducting duties at short notice. The orchestra rose to the occasion to provide excellent support for the soloists. Special mention must also go to David Edwards for his beautiful ‘cello solo in the Weber.

The concert brought a successful 10th anniversary year for the orchestra to a close in spectacular fashion.

Brahms Double Concerto in A minor, Op. 102
Brahms Variations on a Theme by Haydn
Rachmaninov Vocalise for Orchestra
Weber Invitation to the Dance

Read a review of the concert in Marlborough News online 

To read the programme notes for this concert, which include biographical details on the conductor and soloists and a list of players, click the link below.

December 2016 programme

[huge_it_gallery id=”10″]